Proxmark developers community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-06-19 09:40:29

noko
Contributor
Registered: 2014-06-17
Posts: 14

Accessing to proxmark3 via UART or RS232 without client?

It looks very strange for me why proxmark nowadays need standalone client software?

Explain please why proxmark still need client and in theory how board must be modified for adding "client free" feature?

It will be nice if access to device will look like:

minicom -D /dev/ttyUSB0

and work in  any OS without painful compiling.

Offline

#2 2014-06-19 10:21:49

0xFFFF
Administrator
From: Vic - Australia
Registered: 2011-05-31
Posts: 515

Re: Accessing to proxmark3 via UART or RS232 without client?

This is a research and development platform. Also, it's open source. There is nothing stopping you from implementing this feature yourself.
There are 'stable' releases out there that don't require compiling (but might require firmware upgrading / downloading of the PM3).
The Proxmark III client software works on Windows, Linux and Apple.

Making it 'client free'...
* You could attach it to a BBB or Raspberry Pi and provide yourself with an abstraction layer of sorts.
* You could modify the firmware and make use of a UART (perhaps attaching a HC04 instead?). I don't know how you will go with the on-board resources though.

I have not hurt myself compiling any part of the PM3 project.


modhex(ecijhhhhhhhhfchdhbidhniihghdduhehvhtduhbig)

Offline

#3 2014-06-19 22:06:39

charliex
Contributor
From: Los Angeles/Scotland
Registered: 2010-08-05
Posts: 70
Website

Re: Accessing to proxmark3 via UART or RS232 without client?

it'd be fairly trivial to add a terminal like client on the usb, its more or less the same stuff we'ce done in the LCD version, the only bits you can't do easily in terminal are the graphs and so on, and anything thats processed on client side that can't fit in the sam7

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB