Proxmark3 developers community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-06-20 01:24:31

0xFFFF
Administrator
From: Vic - Australia
Registered: 2011-05-31
Posts: 630

Pick and place on ISO credentials

Anyone out there using pick and place on stacks of ISO cards?
I'm experiencing issues with a robot that is occasionally lifting more than one card at a time. While this in itself is something that can be managed by code, I would prefer to improve the mechanics.

I'm not entirely sure is this is a problem with vacuum between individual cards or static. It's hard to tell for sure.


Want to contact me? Here's my email address...
modhex(ecijhhhhhhhhfchdhbidhniihghdduhehvhtduhbig)

Offline

#2 2016-06-20 03:59:15

marshmellow
Moderator
From: US
Registered: 2013-06-10
Posts: 2,299

Re: Pick and place on ISO credentials

static is often a large problem with iso pvc cards.  i know some manufacturers have ionizers to attempt to diffuse some of it, but say it isn't completely effective.

Offline

#3 2016-06-20 04:48:23

0xFFFF
Administrator
From: Vic - Australia
Registered: 2011-05-31
Posts: 630

Re: Pick and place on ISO credentials

Thanks for the suggestion marshmellow.

Whatever the solution is (solutions are) I'll let you know how I go.

Initially there was just a suspension pick and place with bellows.
Air jets with brushes attached have been recently added. There was a difference but not quite enough.
I'm thinking an ionizer could be attached to the brushes.


Want to contact me? Here's my email address...
modhex(ecijhhhhhhhhfchdhbidhniihghdduhehvhtduhbig)

Offline

#4 2016-06-20 15:25:22

ntk
Contributor
Registered: 2015-05-24
Posts: 701

Re: Pick and place on ISO credentials

"a robot that is occasionally lifting more than one card at a time" ... Interesting..... Where are you working that you have have to deal with pick and place robot on stacks of ISO cards? not even SAVOY hotel uses that much cards to employ a robot? Is it a central bank?

I can't imagine how the pick and place robot arm looks like, but if it is static problem, why can't you not use a brush and just earth-grounded the cards

Ask the company to have a trip to a Las Vegas Casino and sit and play to observe the automatic card dealer,  if the plastic cards they use have no problem with static, you shouldn't have

Last edited by ntk (2016-06-20 15:30:21)


modhex(ichbifhkhghuhehghkiehbihhkidifighgebecedfchihthbhkhrduhehvht)

Offline

#5 2016-06-20 23:55:50

0xFFFF
Administrator
From: Vic - Australia
Registered: 2011-05-31
Posts: 630

Re: Pick and place on ISO credentials

ntk wrote:

"a robot that is occasionally lifting more than one card at a time" ... Interesting..... Where are you working that you have have to deal with pick and place robot on stacks of ISO cards? not even SAVOY hotel uses that much cards to employ a robot? Is it a central bank?

A manufacturer. big_smile
Actually, some hotels do have their own printers. Sometimes with card programmers built in.
No.

ntk wrote:

I can't imagine how the pick and place robot arm looks like, but if it is static problem, why can't you not use a brush and just earth-grounded the cards

The pick and place parts on the robot are pneumatic linear units. Search for "pneumatic linear pick and place" to get a rough idea of what it might look like.
The brushes I mentioned in an earlier post were grounded through the machine chassis. The brushes with the air helped but did not solve the problem.

ntk wrote:

Ask the company to have a trip to a Las Vegas Casino and sit and play to observe the automatic card dealer,  if the plastic cards they use have no problem with static, you shouldn't have

Hmmm,... I'd like to go to the Las Vegas security expo!
I didn't think to mention this earlier but this robot does not program one type of media. There are hoppers for fobs etc... as well.

Update: We *might* have solved the problem. We have placed a barrier that additional cards that are accidentally picked will crash in to. These cards fall back in to the hopper. More testing is needed.
I would've thought there would be problems with flex in the bellows.


Want to contact me? Here's my email address...
modhex(ecijhhhhhhhhfchdhbidhniihghdduhehvhtduhbig)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB