Proxmark developers community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-03-05 10:21:59

CryptoKey
Contributor
Registered: 2017-03-04
Posts: 8

Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

I need to buy a Proxmark3, (V2,V3 ????)
I need to buy a Proxmark3, and I would like to know which version of HW there is, or if a new Proxmark3 HW V2017 !!

My studies would be directed towards Hitag-plus, Hitag-aes, Hitag-3, are supported by Proxmark3 ??

Thank you :-)

Offline

#2 2017-03-06 11:20:07

kwx
Contributor
Registered: 2013-11-26
Posts: 40

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Hi CryptoKey.
Proxmark3 hardware is starting to get a little bit difficult to follow.
Essentially: there is no FW difference between the versions - they will all run the same firmware, and are all in theory capable of reading the same tags.

There is:

- Proxmark 3 'Original' - The original design. Older (10y+) components, very strange antenna connection system. Essentially discontinued.

- Proxmark 3 'Original' rebuilt: Same hardware, better antennas ( https://store.ryscc.com/products/new-proxmark3-kit ). Essentially discontinued.

- Proxmark 3 RDV: Elechouse's facelift of the proxmark. Updated & modernised hardware and components. Smaller footprint. More stable operation. New, modern antenna system (Mini SMA connectors, smaller, better performance). Discontinued.

- Proxmark 3 RDV2: V2 of the above. This is the version that most people purchase. Hardware is stable, build quality is very good. Price is cheaper than above systems.

Note, there is also a Proxmark 3 RDV "easy".
This is a version intended for the chinese domestic market only, so has a few features removed:
1. AT91SAM7S256 (smaller memory 256kb)
2. Removed lithium battery management and socket.
3. Removed some components such as Relay and the Amplifier
4. Use different antenna connection.

In a nutshell, you're probably looking for the Proxmark RDV 2.
Lots of places to buy from. This forum lists a bunch.

If you're in the EU (or even if you're not) - I sell via www.lab401.com

Last edited by kwx (2017-03-06 11:21:38)

Offline

#3 2017-03-06 12:10:24

CryptoKey
Contributor
Registered: 2017-03-04
Posts: 8

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Thanks mate, :-)
Better explanation impossible, now I have it clear, for my first time, I was lost at this point. :-(
I'm in the process of buying it.
excuse my ignorance. :-)
to be continued ...... :-)

Offline

#4 2017-03-10 19:44:07

CryptoKey
Contributor
Registered: 2017-03-04
Posts: 8

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Hello again. mate
I received the proxmart from LAB401.
Surprise, has no installation CD, :-(

---------
Will have a video tutorials of help in the installation ??? I do not want to start with the left foot, excuse.

Is this video compatible for original proxmark ?? (Proxmark3 Tutorials - Part 1 - Setting up) - https://youtu.be/E-JcovPXiuU

Last edited by CryptoKey (2017-03-10 19:44:34)

Offline

#5 2017-03-10 20:42:18

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 3,865
Website

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

You normally never get an installation cd when buying a proxmark3.  Of all the pm3's I've bought its been like that. Software and etc is to be downloaded, all depending on your os of choice. Its an opensource project, not a end consumer product smile

There are plenty to read up on,  the wiki, this forum, papers, blogs and on youtube there are videos which explain.


modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#6 2017-03-10 21:04:05

CryptoKey
Contributor
Registered: 2017-03-04
Posts: 8

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

OK
Yes, forget some readings, I have read the WIKI now,
At first everything seems a bit frustrating, until everything is well located and each link.
At first it did not find any relation with each link. (WIKI + code.google + Github), I also did not understand a relationship with the original design and the Chinese, because seeing the Chinese PM3 with SW also left me disjointed. :-)

Thank you.

PD, this video of yotube can be a good tutorial, to install in an XP.? :-)

Last edited by CryptoKey (2017-03-10 21:06:06)

Offline

#7 2017-03-11 10:28:00

piwi
Contributor
Registered: 2013-06-04
Posts: 440

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

kwx wrote:

- Proxmark 3 RDV: Elechouse's facelift of the proxmark. Updated & modernised hardware and components.

Do you have more information on the "modernised hardware and components"? Besides PCB layout and antenna connectors?

Offline

#8 2017-03-11 11:45:30

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 3,865
Website

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

that is rdv1.0 (first their revisions with 256kb, orange/red pcb)  They dropped it quite fast and made rdv2.0 (blue pcb, 512kb)
After that came rdv3.0 Easy (made for china market)   

If you want all details, Elechouse has written all changes on their product page.


modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#9 2017-03-11 18:11:16

piwi
Contributor
Registered: 2013-06-04
Posts: 440

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

The description on their product page doesn't give much information, therefore I am asking. Schematics, anyone?

Offline

#10 2017-03-11 18:14:22

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 3,865
Website

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

the rdv2.0 is not open-sourced,  so good luck finding the schematics. The rdv1.0 was, I did provide a DL to it on another thread. Search the forum for it.


modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#11 2017-03-11 18:44:40

piwi
Contributor
Registered: 2013-06-04
Posts: 440

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Thanks. Found it.

Offline

#12 2017-03-12 14:35:55

CryptoKey
Contributor
Registered: 2017-03-04
Posts: 8

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Good after several attempts, and managed to install part of the proxmark. :-)
According to these steps.
-
For windos Xp, and in my case.
Download the folder> https://code.google.com/archive/p/proxmark3/downloads
Cd3-bin-756 (cdc + lua) .rar> CDC new serial interface, there are drivers and software.

Also help me with the video> Proxmark3 - Windows XP Driver Install
Https://youtu.be/MfU3WcXNUbE?list=PLvftlns4iCmLwHOmefio9jfUhiHEvtMPS
To see the installation of the drivers.

The port-com to take by installation is the com8, according to see in software (GO) I asked for COM5 and change manual to COM5. Now is the port-com OK.
-----
Now I am, at the point that I can not read anything with proxmark, I guess I did NOT do the (update bootloader)

I ask the experts. You must do the bootloader obligatorily?
How can I tell if my version is (R655, R650 or r486)
Would this be the case of not being able to read with proxmark?
----
I am using for the readings the SW - (go) and Proxmark tool, both without it.



**Excuse my ignorance and my bad English. Sorry :-)

Last edited by CryptoKey (2017-03-12 14:37:10)

Offline

#13 2017-03-12 15:08:01

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 3,865
Website

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

This is the "trade parts" section,  don't post about compilation problems here.  Start a new thread under Windows Client, if you don't find answers there.


modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#14 2017-05-15 07:25:18

jramb0
Contributor
Registered: 2016-11-07
Posts: 16

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Would there be any benefits to upgrade my Proxmark 3 RDV "easy" to Proxmark 3 RDV2

Offline

#15 2017-05-15 09:07:12

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 3,865
Website

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

...not really,  if you have the money sure..
or if you are good at soldering, you might upgrade the MCU yourself,  I read it somewhere on this http://wiki.yobi.be/ site.
or if you are unhappy with the 3.0...


modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#16 2017-05-15 12:25:40

jramb0
Contributor
Registered: 2016-11-07
Posts: 16

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Thanks iceman

iceman wrote:

...not really,  if you have the money sure..
or if you are good at soldering, you might upgrade the MCU yourself,  I read it somewhere on this http://wiki.yobi.be/ site.
or if you are unhappy with the 3.0...

Offline

#17 2017-06-21 06:08:21

mollusc
Contributor
From: Vic - Australia
Registered: 2017-05-01
Posts: 33

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Resurrecting slightly old thread... Anyone have schematics for the Proxmark 3 RDV "easy"?

Offline

#18 2017-06-21 09:52:59

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 3,865
Website

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

I have asked Mr Wilson / Elechouse about it.
To my knowledge the Elechouse rdv3.0 easy, is not open-source and no schematics is published.

However I have seen ads on taobao selling the schematics but they are most likely stolen property.


modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#19 2017-06-21 10:07:17

mollusc
Contributor
From: Vic - Australia
Registered: 2017-05-01
Posts: 33

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Thanks! I'm having issues running iclass sim on mine and I'm wondering if sim has been tested very thoroughly on this hardware... Reading works like a charm. I'm willing to reverse engineer a schematic but only if really necessary.

Offline

#20 2017-06-21 10:22:16

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 3,865
Website

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

iclass sim problems would be a different thread but just to let you know the current implementation doesnt support full commandset, only partial.


modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#21 2017-06-21 14:07:37

mollusc
Contributor
From: Vic - Australia
Registered: 2017-05-01
Posts: 33

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Hmm, by current implementation do you mean the latest code on the github master branch? I did try reverting to v3.0.1 also. Or do you mean that PM3 easy hardware doesn't support full command set? Or does the firmware just need tweaking for this hardware - if so I have pretty good motivation to contribute! smile edit: I'll post in a more relevant thread but I'm just trying to do the loclass attack

Last edited by mollusc (2017-06-21 14:09:16)

Offline

#22 2017-06-21 14:43:59

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 3,865
Website

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Don't confuse between hardware and firmware.  Your pm3 rdv3.0 (easy) is ok.  The hardware supports the same as original pm3. Things like antenna change, which influences the device a lot.  There is seperate category for antenna discussions.

The firmware does not support full commandset for iclass,  for any proxmark3 device.  Post in relevant thread about loclass attack. sounds more like you are doing it wrong


modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#23 2017-06-22 00:50:34

mollusc
Contributor
From: Vic - Australia
Registered: 2017-05-01
Posts: 33

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Thanks, I just misunderstood and thought you were talking about hardware limitations. This is a cheap clone of the elechouse design so I was curious if they have done anything dodgy like changing amplifier gains to make antenna performance look better than it is.

I had a look at the source code and I can see what you meant about supporting partial iclass command set. Shouldn't be a problem for me.

Offline

#24 2017-06-26 03:40:27

mollusc
Contributor
From: Vic - Australia
Registered: 2017-05-01
Posts: 33

Re: Proxmark3 latest version for 2017?

Sorry for the double post, but I just remembered to check the PM3 license. The root of the repository says it is GNU GPL V2 and I can see no mention of license elsewhere. Unfortunately the wording of that license (using the word "software" explicitly) means it is hard to argue it applies to the hardware too. Does anyone know if this was deliberate?

I'm new around here, but I humbly suggest that if a PM4 design ever happens then the hardware design should be explicitly licensed as open too. This would help prevent the current situation where people are selling modified designs with no incentive to even provide a schematic. Thankfully the modifications in the current devices on the market don't seem too extreme. I base this on the fact that the PM3 Easy is the cheapest, so is likely the most stripped down. I'm imagining more extreme scenarios like:
(a) Someone changed the demodulation circuitry (e.g. peak detector) so that it was cheaper but had a degraded signal
(b) Someone found a way to improve the demodulation circuitry but the signal shapes changed a bit as a result. (this is probably less likely given it would most likely increase manufacturing cost)

I'd want to know about either of those mods in my device in case future firmware updates caused it to stop working!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB