Proxmark3 community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.

"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Time changes and with it the technology
Proxmark3 @ discord

Users of this forum, please be aware that information stored on this site is not private.

#1 2015-11-02 22:42:14

DeniCevap

How do I find out which block holds the validity part of a Mifare Clas

To start off - this is my first time doing anything remotely like this!

I got interested to see if it is possible to change the validity of a transit card using the MiFare Classic 1k cards. I used one card which had an expired validity and dumped the data (with the correct keys) to my PC. Then I bought 30 days of transit and filled it on the same card and dumped the data to my PC. Now in theory I would be able to see what the "refill" does, what it changes.

I can compare the two HEX files and see the differences but I am completely lost now because I do not know how to decode the HEX... I made it into ASCII but that didn't help me at all.

So what I need help with is finding out what block is holding the validity part of the transit card. I have the two dumped files if somebody wants to check them out, but I would appreciate a nudge into the right direction.. Almost 6 sectors change when the card is refilled, how do I know which one hold the data I am looking for?

The card has 7$ on it (which can be used anytime), but also 30 days of transit.

Obviously I will not use this for personal gain! I support my city and its transit system, but I am a eager man wanting to learn. Forgive me for my bad english, I'm Swedish.

#2 2015-11-05 12:42:20

AT91SAM
Contributor

Re: How do I find out which block holds the validity part of a Mifare Clas

there is no validity part on a mifaire 1k.
the part you are talking about is part of the owners data.